SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following seven Additional Judges of the Gauhati High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1 Shri Justice Lanusungkum Jamir
- 2 Shri Justice Manash Ranjan Pathak
- 3 Shri Justice Achintya Malla Bujor Barua
- 4 Shri Justice Kalyan Rai Surana
- 5 Shri Justice Prasanta Kumar Deka
- 6 Shri Justice Nelson Sailo
- 7 Shri Justice Ajit Borthakur.

The Collegium of the Gauhati High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 11th October, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

We have taken note of the observations of the Department of Justice that the views of the concerned State Governments have not been received and the file has been referred to the Supreme Court since term of the above-named Additional Judges is going to expire shortly on 14th/21st November, 2018.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleague who is conversant with the affairs of the Gauhati High Court. A copy of letter of his opinion received in this regard is placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

We have also taken note of certain complaints received in the office of Chief Justice of India making allegations against some of the

above-named recommendees. On examination, we do not find any *prima facie* substance in these complaints, which deserve to be ignored.

Taking into consideration the material on record, the Collegium finds S/Shri Justices (1) Lanusungkum Jamir, (2) Manash Ranjan Pathak, (3) Achintya Malla Bujor Barua, (4) Kalyan Rai Surana, (5) Prasanta Kumar Deka, (6) Nelson Sailo, and (7) Ajit Borthakur, Additional Judges, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (1) Lanusungkum Jamir, (2) Manash Ranjan Pathak, (3) Achintya Malla Bujor Barua, (4) Kalyan Rai Surana, (5) Prasanta Kumar Deka, (6) Nelson Sailo, and (7) Ajit Borthakur, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Gauhati High Court against the existing vacancies.

As regards Shri Justice Lanusungkum Jamir, who hails from Gauhati High Court and has recently been posted, on transfer, to Manipur High Court, it is needless to mention that he would continue to function in that High Court.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

(Madan B. Lokur), J.

(Kurian Joseph), J.

October 24, 2018.